What SEO experts won’t tell you

Many web marketeers have given mea similar advice which I have passed on in good faith to my readers. This week I met a web-developer who made me pause and rethink. Here are his points that he asked me to consider.
1. Do you need to be overly concerned with SEO? If the value of your typical sale is in the thousands, how likely is it that a prospective customer will search the web for a supplier?How many just type in the name of the company they wish to find? If your business is based on trust and relationships, then SEO may not be as important than if you sell high-volume lower-value services and products where the risks are lower.
2. Buying domains and then redirecting them to your landing page could get you black-listed by Google if you have too many redirects. How many is too many is not known but multiple websites/domains with similar content will definately get you blacklisted.  Here is a useful video on the subject which doesn’t seem to see this as too much of an issue.
http://www.youtube.com/user/GoogleWe…/3/a70ygsHgvMw3. Buying domains based on popular terms and key-words related to your products and services is also known as “domain squatting”. It can be expensive and there is an ethical aspect to it as well. In a year or two when plans to open the market by allowing choice over the endings i.e. .com, .net, co.uk will further increase the costs of this strategy.

I am aware that this post is likely to be seen as controversial by some readers, so I look forward to a healthy debate!

The Week. On Monday I had an informative day touring some of the CECS service providers including Wheelchair Services, Tissue Viability and Dental Services.  On Tuesday, I spent 4 hours in the car travelling or rather not travelling on the A14 from Bury to Newmarket for the Coaching for High Growth Programme Masterclass day. www.sijc.co.uk.  On Wednesday I interviewed prospects for the Chair of CECS and went to London on Thursday to develop a proposal on leadership effectiveness benchmarking. Friday was a marketing networking lunch with local companies to see how we might join in bidding for work.  Plus final preparations for The Leadership Forum on the 5th July in Chelmsford, although as the Chairman of the local CIPD is coming to present, there is not too much to do.

Reading for the week.  As it is the end of the month, I refer you to the recommended books previously mentioned which you may still be working through!

Lighter Reflections.  Never mind Springwatch, I was an extra in Deathwatch this week.  As I was leaving the house, something caught my eye – a little rabbit sitting by our piano.  I assumed that it had not come indoors to practice its scales but don’t know which of our two monsters, dog or cat, was the culprit.  A dual act probably, similar to that witnessed the following day.  I heard a squeak in the garden and saw Baron rushing off into the hedge.  A minute later he emerged with a baby rabbit in his mouth.  I shouted at him and he dropped it. Although the rabbit was still breathing it was only for a few moments.  I wondered why it had squeaked and then saw Moshi, the cat, sitting under the nearby bush.  The last incident was purely down to the cat.  I congratulated myself on Moshi coming back to the house on first call, only to see that she had brought a friend to play with.  A small speckled wren.  Dead.  Am I the only one to have killer pets?

Future Forum Dates:  The last opportunity to attend one of the Forums before the summer break.

Leadership Forum 5th July, Chelmsford  – HR Basics you need to be aware of.

Highflyingdivas, 26th July, Colchester – NLP for Business

You can find more at http://ccconsulting.org.uk/    Follow me on Twitter

Rosemary

About RosemaryCC

Leadership Coach and Management Consultant helping you to clarify your goals and achieve success in your career or business. Also founder of Highflyingdivas and the Leadership Forum
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What SEO experts won’t tell you

  1. Hi Rosemary, I’m one of those old-fashioned marketeers who believe in building the brand – by being credible, professional – and bold! I agree with your point about relationships; it’s important to me that I meet, engage with and work with people who ‘get’ what we do. This means things like sharing our values – not something that’s easy to put into search engines!

  2. My comment isn’t work related but more to do with killer pets, Fergus my 2yr old Bengal was obsessively staring at a gap between a book case & the wall for an hour, it turned out he’d carried in a mouse and released it in the living room, eventually after my becoming a furniture mover for him, he recaptured it and I was able to shunt them both out of the front door. He was next spotted staring into a clump of grass so I assume he lost his prey again.

  3. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

