Free Business Tools

On searching around the internet, listening to people and attending workshops, I have come across three useful free tools and websites.

1. Polls and Surveys. Here you can create polls and surveys to feature in your blog, website and via a link that you can use on Facebook and other social media. It is free for 10 questions and offers some simple templates. http://polldaddy.com.

2. Surveys. For a basic 10 question survey, www.surveymonkey.com is well-known for its free service. To generate reports and further analysis you will have to take a subscription, however, if there are only a limited number of respondents, this is useful.

3. Contact database/customer relationship management system. For up to 250 contacts and a single user, http://highrisehq.com/ offers a free service. Very useful for keeping contact details, notes of conversations and task reminders to keep your follow-up process operating smoothly for the small business owner.

The Week:  Busy organising new dates for both Highflyingdivas Forum and The Leadership Forum meetings.  Happily now booked up to March.  The next dates are below, full details at www.highflyingdivas.com

23rd November – Chelmsford, Highflyingdivas

10th December – Colchester, The Leadership Forum

18th January – London, Highflyingdivas

Received a phone call from the Editor of HR Director to say they are publishing my article in Issue 74 in December.  He requested that I “edit” it down to 800 words from its current 1300.  I asked him what he would like me to take out and he replied “Nothing, just write more efficiently”.  I was due to go to a CIPD event in Ipswich on Thursday evening but my husband’s car suddenly failed and I had to collect my son from school instead.  On Friday though I visited the Chelmsford Professionals Lunch which was very well-attended. This is a LinkedIn group which meets on the last Friday of each month.  In the evening, I scored major brownie points with my son by being invited by KPMG to the Harry Potter film, with dinner.  A wonderful evening.  Other activities included setting up a poll on Polldaddy and a LinkedIn group for The Leadership Forum.

Lighter Reflections

leadership coachHusband James used to be a Detective Sergent in the Metropolitan Police Force, CID.  This, I’m sure, leads him to maintain a running commentary on other drivers’ faults when we venture out.  I sometimes murmur “I don’t think they can hear you darling” but this rarely penetrates the aura of righteous indignation emanating from “The 4 wheeled Enforcer” by my side.  His authority and command at the wheel has meant that it is easier to always allow him to drive, regardless of whose car is used.  This has become such a habit that on one occasion I got into the passenger seat after shopping to realise that I was on my own and had actually driven myself to the supermarket.  Rather sheepily I had to shimmy over to the driver’s side.  This family tradition was challenged with the arrival of my new car.  It is my “business” car, a small Audi TT Quatro.  I drive it everywhere.  So, when the steering on my husband’s jeep suddenly failed, it meant that we had to go out to dinner in my car.  Very shortly after departing the house, I could hear James’ feet slamming down on the floor as he impersonated “driving” in the passenger seat.  Visions of “maggie” from the Simpsons sprang into mind as I contemplated buying him a toy steering wheel for this type of occasion.  After huffing and puffing for a little while, he asked “Do you have a paper bag I can put on my head?”.  I responded with “Why dear, you aren’t that ugly”.  I was faced with a choice – continue driving and arrive at the restaurant with frayed nerves, jarred ear-drums and a hole in the passenger seat carpet or hand over control.  I opted for the latter and we resumed our happy tradition of James’ redirected mutterings at drivers, other than me.

About RosemaryCC

Leadership Coach and Management Consultant helping you to clarify your goals and achieve success in your career or business. Also founder of Highflyingdivas and the Leadership Forum
This entry was posted in Technical resources. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Business Tools

  1. Drukarnia says:

    Thank you for another informative web site. Where else could I get that type of info written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

Leave a Reply

