Top 3 business start up tips this week

Top tips this week:-

1.  Visit and register on the following site.  www.schoolforstartups.co.uk.  See text below for reasons why!

2.  Doug Richard mentioned that if you put your business details directly onto your site, it can be electronically “scraped” and used for unwanted spam etc.  Instead save it as an image (e.g. jpeg) and embed the image on  your site.

3. I read that there is IIRC a legal requirement to include company reg number, place of incorporation and registered office address in all electronic communication including email and on web sites.  So this is what I have.  You may wish to use something similar.  

C C Consulting (UK)  is a limited company registered in England and Wales. Registered number: 7139413. Registered office: Moorings, Coggeshall Road, Kelvedon, Colchester, CO5 9PE
  

I attended the Doug Richard School for Startups event called “Low cost, fast growth marketing”,  which was fantastic.  Highly entertaining, truly inspirational and riddled with practical useful advice and tips.  Connect with this guy and his network.  You will not regret it.  I also attended a briefing from a consultancy network called The Lamberhurst Corporation on Monday and had a 1-2-1 interview with one of the founders on Friday.  Here is my opinion on their business model.  Basically, the network has been in existence for some 10 years and has 45 members, all of whom are independent consultants.  They work together to pitch, win and deliver business consultancy.  They appear bona fide and offer many supporting services to consultants, whether the desire is to build your business or simply keep in touch with changing practices.  The even have a market team to develop leads.  The costs are a one-time election fee of £500 and a monthly fee of £260 (both have VAT on top).  You then pay a % of your day rate (average £1200) to both the person who introduced you and the corporation, leaving you approximately £720 per day.  For me, this is probably too much investment at this stage of my start-up.  The Lamberhurst have regular briefing events and can be found on Top Consultant if you are interested.  I also managed to interview a Managing Partner from a firm of solicitors about his view on women in leadership roles.  Interestingly he doesn’t feel that there is an issue and believes that the legal profession is one of the most open offering balanced opportunities.  Will include his views in my research as I continue preparing my article on the subject.

 My recommended book this week is “Our Iceberg is melting” by John Kotter.  A very easy and informative read about change, how to understand it and manage it successfully.  You won’t get bored with this one.

Lighter Reflections

I have had the “pleasure” of a train journey to London twice this week.  On Monday, the train was late with only half the usual number of carriages.  All commuters were crammed in sardine-like doing our best impression of an overloaded cattle truck. On the second occasion,  I waited on the platform at 10.36 for the 10.31 to arrive and read with interest that this was expected at 10.32!  Oh the joy of not having to commute every day!  Yes I might miss the shops and the multiple coffee bars, lined up side by side as you emerge from the train.  Clearly you need to buy  one cup from three different vendors to recover from the journey.  Or is it that the marketing people feel that the aroma from the first outlet takes at least until you reach the escalators to penetrate your trance-like state?  Of course, by this time, you cannot turn back against the oncoming tide of commuters so need another opportunity closer to avail yourself of their nectar. 

The "River Blackwater" close to my house  Finally the photo, which this week has no relationship with any part of the rest of my blog but just gives me a chance to show off some of the lovely scenary where I live.  This is the River Blackwater.  Could this be the reason my house is called Moorings? This modest “River” is 800m away!

About RosemaryCC

Leadership Coach and Management Consultant helping you to clarify your goals and achieve success in your career or business. Also founder of Highflyingdivas and the Leadership Forum
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 3 business start up tips this week

  1. Alex Parr says:

    I was at Doug Richard’s seminar which was excellent and another piece of advice that I would add is make sure that you are contactable on your website. It is amazing how many websites don’t list their telephone number. Don’t they want to be contacted?

  2. Hi Rosemary,
    I would have loved to gone to see Doug Richards again, I have seen him before in Colchester and loved his down to earth approach. I went to meet up with fellow Linkedin Networkers on Friday in London which was rather lovely sitting by the Thames.
    Enjoyed reading your blog…will be following.

    blog on
    Lindsay : )

  3. I wanted to thanks for this nice read!! I definitely enjoying each little little bit of it I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you put up

  4. Hello. Very nice web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am glad to find a lot of useful information here within the article. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

