Service Development and Consultancy Networks

A quieter week with time to trawl through my historic papers and disks searching for valuable case studies, tools and methodologies.  I have also  been in contact with two consultancy networks.  The Lamberhurst Corporation www.lamberhurst.com and the Synogis group www.synogis.com.  Both claim to be high-calibre networks of senior independent consultants.  I had to apply to Lamberhurst and have been accepted to attend a briefing at the IoD, London on the 7th June, after which there are individual interviews.  I’ll let you know!!  I am also attending at Synogis also in London on the 21st June as a guest to assess its potential value to me.  I found Lamberhurst on google but was pointed to Synogis by a networking colleague.

I have signed up to a distance learning course on writing. The Writer’s Bureau.  www.writersbureau.com What I liked about this is that they promise to refund your fee (approx £375) if  you do not earn this in fees by the end of the course.  So far I have had £50 for a letter!  Anyway, I knuckled down and wrote a travel piece about Kelvedon this week. I have put it aside for a couple of days and then will submit it with some other material as my Assignment 6.

Continuing my technology education, I managed to source a twitter logo and add it to my website to connect everyone to my tweets.  Found this logo free on www.twitbackgroundimages.com

Lindsay Wakelin forwarded my photograph.  Let me know what you think!  I have to decide if I am going to replace the current one on my business cards and website with this more recent one.  At least with the number of networking events I am attending, my stock of cards will not be around for long. 

I had a coaching session this week and struggled to find a topic.  I outlined some of the structure I have put in place to help me move forward and received a stunned silence.  Maybe it is helpful for you to consider a set of daily and weekly targets/habits to keep you aware that you are making progress.  So, this works for me:-

1.  Attend up to 2 networking events a week

2.  Take a marketing action every day – phone call/email etc

3.  Spend an hour each day on my three services – coaching, consulting, communications and another on admin

4.  Write a “to do” list every morning (only the important tasks – not 20 pages of everything you can think of).  At the end of the day do not review the remaining tasks.  Focus on the completed ones.

Does anyone else have other habits they find useful?

Lighter Reflections

It is half-term this week.  Guy has enjoyed the prince-like experience of receiving a different play-guest each day.  We got a break one day when he was taken to the Ipswich show.  One of the benefits of working from home is that you are always around and can keep an eye on nettle-bashing and other fun activities taking place in the garden. I also finally felt guilty about my dusty car and, kitted out in yellow plastic gloves with sponges and cloths in hand, gave it a good wash and polish.  Halfway though the final polish, the car and I were soaked by the sudden directional change of the water-sprinkler from the adjacent farmer’s field.  Needless to say it hadn’t appeared when I was washing, as opposed to drying and polishing.  I took that as a sign that it was time for a cup of tea and a biscuit.

I have started reading Why Should Anyone Be Led by You? by Rob Goffee and Gareth Jones. Their view is that the key attribute for an effective leader is to be authentic.  Also rather than attempting to emulate the long lists of leadership behaviours, it is more important to understand and focus on what works, and makes you different as a leader.  Interesting.

Plan to be busy next week so going to read some important research material in the garden!!

About RosemaryCC

Leadership Coach and Management Consultant helping you to clarify your goals and achieve success in your career or business. Also founder of Highflyingdivas and the Leadership Forum
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Service Development and Consultancy Networks

  1. louise says:

    Hi there
    I would be really interested to know what happened with Lamberhurst as I notice your post is back in June. I have been talking to them this week and am trying to find out ore about them and see whether it is really something I need to consider. I work as a facilitator, coach and trainer and am aware that going forward many of the contracts are going to be massive framework agreements which only big organisations will be able to get.

Leave a Reply

