15th May 2010

Another week has flashed past and I am sitting here reflecting on events and learnings.  I went to 3 great networking events this week.  The first was The BusinessWomens’ Network where Steve Clarke presented his guide to success.  Apparently it is all about attitude.  I loved the “attitude equals altitude” as it fits in with High-flying Divas.  We all had a photograph taken which can be viewed on the Lindsay Wakelin’s blog.  I then attended the Institute of Directors Motor Show evening.  

Admiring a Ferrari with other women Directors!

 

Leaning on the car is about as close as I’m going to get!  All the IoD members were very welcoming and helpful.  They are keen for new members and I am certainly thinking seriously about joining.  The photographs were taken by Rob Sambrook.          .  

The third event was run by Enterprising Women at The Holiday Inn in Colchester with a guest speaker, Lesley Morrissey talking about effective websites.  Everyone, including me, realised that they would need to return home and start editing their website.  Take a look at my changes and let me know what you think.  Basically learnings for me were:- don’t have white text on a black background, it is difficult to read.  Why have Welcome on the home page or confirm that the audience has hit the right page by repeating the page title as a header?  Use this valuable space for a message.  

Other reflections have been around continuing to remain motivated during this start-up phase.  I recommend Dr Marcia Reynold’s book “Outsmart your Brain” in which she explains how your brain is overly protective (back from our cavemen days) and will send messages to persuade you not to take or continue down anything but a safe path. I found two tips very useful and use them every day.  The first is to take time at the end of every day and reflect on the positive results.  I used to always think about what remained outstanding or what I hadn’t done.  Now I try to celebrate the positive – meeting new contacts, sending off those wretched accounts, taking a walk in the garden.  The second one I now regularly use is again at the beginning and end of the day.  It is a series of steps:  Relax, (loosen all your muscles), Detach (clear your mind), Centre (touch or tap your chest or stomach) and Focus (on one positive emotion that you want for the day).  This works for me, particularly when I start to get anxious thinking about what I should be doing or should be achieving.  Those self-imposed gremlins. 

Lighter Reflections?  My husband James pointed out that perhaps it was time for an eye-test when I failed to recognise my son Guy in a photo of 12 children.  He was sitting in the middle in a different outfit as the goalie in the school’s hockey team!  James’ actual words were “you wouldn’t be any good in a police line-up would you? – you don’t even recognise your own son!”. 

So I’m off to play with my son in the garden, taking a good look at him for future reference!

About RosemaryCC

Leadership Coach and Management Consultant helping you to clarify your goals and achieve success in your career or business. Also founder of Highflyingdivas and the Leadership Forum
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

